There are three ways to be charged with simple assault (also known as “misdemeanor assault”). An individual commits assault if he or she:
Depending on the circumstances, Assault charges vary in classification and severity of punishment.
Class 1: Up to 6 months in jail/fines of $2,500 (plus assessments and surcharges)/3 years of probation.
Class 2: Up to 4 months in jail/fines of $750 (plus assessments and surcharges)/2 years of probation.
Class 3: Up to 30 days in jail/fines of $500 (plus assessments and surcharges)/1 year of probation.
Glazer, Hammond, Ruben & Smets, PLLC is familiar with the classifications of assault as they pertain to Arizona law and can create a strategy to obtain the best possible result in your case.
Many factors can elevate the charge from a simple to an aggravated assault, including but not limited to:
Glazer, Hammond, Ruben & Smets, PLLC can effectively evaluate the circumstances surrounding your case to create a solid defense that will help you achieve the least severe sentence possible.
Providing Experienced and Compassionate
Legal Counsel for Northern Arizona.
We will not take cases unless we think
we can help.